a little less “i” a little more “we”

I feel like most, if not all, the problems we teenagers deal with on a regular basis are because of selfishness. While we do have a ton going on, especially this time of year when papers are due, finals are coming up, college is just around the corner, and decisions no one is ready to make are banging on the door, we easily tend to think only of ourselves.

We’ve grown up in a world where that is the norm. Every teenager for himself. It’s war at high school, with drama lining the ceilings and walls of the hallways, waiting for a chance to attack the most innocent and unsuspecting. We arm ourselves in the coolest clothes and latest gadgets for fear of laughter from our peers. We are willing to stab each other in the back, as long as we are the ones left unharmed.

As the year is coming to a close, I’m almost afraid to even ask how someone else is doing. I’m either scared that they will say everything in their life is going way better than mine and I’ll regret asking, or that person’s life is going to be so bad that I’m gonna feel like it’s my duty to fix it, adding to my already ridiculously long list of to-dos. But there I go again, thinking of myself, just as we all do. I’m afraid for myself, not actually caring about the other person.

Amelia Mignonette Thermopolis Grimaldi Renaldo, prin-CESS of Genovia, summed up the thought like this, “…I realized how many stupid times a day I use the word ‘I.’ And probably all I ever do is think about myself. And how lame is that when there’s like seven billion other people out there on the planet, and… sorry, I’m going too fast. But then I thought, if I cared about the other seven billion out there, instead of just me, that’s probably a much better use of my time.”

If we all had this mindset, not only would it get you one step closer to being a princess or prince of Genovia, but we would all be just a little less stressed out. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve needed someone to just ask me, “Kayley, how are you doing?” I immediately feel so loved and cared about, and it gave me that extra strength to keep going. Imagine if we all could feel that way simply because we are being as selfless as possible. When we genuinely care for one another, life would be so much easier. So let’s all take a break from thoughts like, “What can this person do for me?” and start thinking, “What can I do for someone else?” or “How can I make their day?” That’s how God intended us to interact anyway, selflessly

3 thoughts on “a little less “i” a little more “we”

  1. Great thoughts here, and so true! It reminds me of JFK’s quote, “Ask not what your country can do for you. Ask what you can do for your country.” Being a teen is hard at times, but it’s also a time when you can really start to reflect and decide who you want to begin to become–if you take the time. Glad to see you are and can’t wait to read more. I run a teen advice blog. Let me know what you think when you can. It’s always good to get feedback. http://www.karabwilson.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment, Kara! I’m glad you liked it and I couldn’t agree more—figuring out who you are IS hard! I’d love to hear more from you in the future, and I’d love to read your blog! Thanks again! -Kayley

      Like

Leave a Reply

