4am airport reflection post

It’s about 4am here in Seattle and the guy over the speaker-phone, feeding live throughout the entire SeaTac Airport just said the most hilarious thing, “My attention please! Will blah, blah, blah…” I stopped listening because he asked for his own attention like a moron and I thought, hey, it’s been awhile since I wrote a blog post and this guy’s stupidity would make a great opening line. So here goes:

My attention please! I have just officially finished my first quarter in college! *Cue fireworks display, presidential congratulations addressed to Master Commander to air in thirty seconds, and someone with one of those big checks with my name on it and the money I need for the rest of college knocks on my door*

It was one heck of a ride, but I did it! And I’ll be honest, I really miss home.

So, college is hard. Not only do you have to grow up really fast and start doing adult-y things like managing your time better and paying for your own food and constantly giving yourself two conflicting speeches: 1) You can do it! Look, you woke yourself up this morning! Four pieces of cake for you, Glenn Coco! You go, Glenn Coco!…and 2) You are a terrible adult, how did you even get here? Just call mom and tell her you fail as an adult and should be held back a year or ten from college. And then beg her to make you a hot fudge sundae.

But dorm life freaking sucks, too. Well, maybe not that much, I wouldn’t have met some of the greatest people I know without dorm life, but seriously, what the heck happened to knocking and why doesn’t anyone respect floor hours (I’m talking to you, boys from the first floor who seem to be everywhere BUT the first floor) and ladies, please, can we be a little tidier? The bathroom is disgusting.

I could find a ton more to complain about, trust me. Just ask everyone I’ve called in a fit of rage at the audacity SPU had to accidentally lock me out of my dorm or texted in horrible shock at the utter failure that was Gwinn Commons (our campus cafeteria) when they tried to make BBQ Ribs and even had the gall to call it Kansas-Style BBQ Ribs. “No, sir. You, my sad little friend, have obviously never been to Kansas, because that is definitely not BBQ. That is just failure pretending to be BBQ, and it’s lying. You offend me.” -(basically what I said upon witnessing such acts of terrorism).

But I can’t complain, or at least, I can’t continue to complain. These past couple months have been hard but they have also been amazing. I can’t express how blessed I am to go to a school like SPU and to have had the opportunity to make such wonderful and compassionate friends. This post is just a little thank you to everyone who believed in me and encouraged me. Without the support of my family and best friends in the entire world, I wouldn’t have made it this far. And without the constant community of SPU, I would have holed myself up in my dorm and missed out on the friendships I’ve made. It’s been an amazing quarter, what with me learning to take the bus, getting and then quitting my first job (shout out to the guys at Dominos, I’ll order pizza all the time for an excuse to come visit! And, you know, for the pizza), pulling only four all-nighters all quarter (which is a personal best), and even though I can’t wait to go back, I really am ready to come home.

I miss Ethan and ELISA GRACE DAVIS and Kansas BBQ and an accessible Taco Bell and a stocked fridge and LIBBY GRACE DAVIS (and everyone else, I guess). I’ll be home in a few hours, and I expect waffles and hugs. :*

4 thoughts on “4am airport reflection post

  1. Love your writing & wonder what you would write on the news issues around the US like that of Ferguson, MO & others like it. It is a hot topic & wouldn’t blame you if you have no comment. Welcome home for the Holidays! May God Bless your writings!

    Like

  2. Dearest Kayley, you make me so happy. I love reading your blogs, you literally got me laughing out loud. You are so amazing and inspiring and I miss you soooo much!!! It’s great to read about your college experiences. I’m glad you’re loving it! I really want to go out to Seattle and visit you one day! It looks and sounds amazing! I’m praying for you and mentally sending you those waffles and hugs (; Love yah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, your grandparents do enjoy hearing about all you adventures in Seattle, but are so happy to have you home a few weeks. You humerous posts make us chuckle and even laugh out loud. Your big hugs are waiting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on your first quarter success! I know your mom would love to keep you at home forever, but this reader cannot wait to read more of your adventures in Seattle. Enjoy your short time at home, and thanks for sharing your story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

