I am only human. I am human. (A Prayer)

I am only human.

In you, oh Lord, I put my trust;

Let me never be ashamed;

Deliver me in Your righteousness.

Bow down your ear to me,

Deliver me speedily;

Be my rock of refuge,

A fortress of defense to save me. (Psalm 31:1-2)

I am only human and my trust is flawed, but I still place it in you. Take my broken abilities and help me trust fully and without reserve. Don’t allow me to question You and take my petty doubts far away. Strip them from my mind.

I am only human and anxiety is my friend whom You despise. Take from me my fear and shame. Allow me to wear my love for You proudly. Let the offenses and opinions of others flow past without grasping my attention, my heart. Remind me of my smallness and let shame of Your perfect will take no refuge in my heart.

I am only human and am incapable of living a holy life on my own. Deliver me in your righteousness. Capture my heart, oh God, and woo me everyday. Show me righteousness and how to be virtuous and lovely. Don’t let me stray.

I am only human and speak words with no meaning, cry tears with no voice. Bow down your ear to me but do not allow me to waste your time. Forbid me from mistaking my petty mutterings as prayers and do not allow my words to be written in vain. Create in me words of worth and truth. Give meaning to my mutterings and transform them into gold.

I am only human and patience is a virtue I very rarely possess. Deliver me from evil quickly but remind me of your perfect timing. Give me patience in my waiting.

I am only human and my time is fading. I am mortal, in need of an eternal sunshine in my quickly fleeting life. My will is crumbling and I am in need of Your support. Be my rock, keep me strong, encourage me as I race toward You. Remind me of the refuge you are and don’t allow me to run for other loves.

I am only human and cannot fight my own battles. In the war for my soul, I ask You to be my defense and not let me lose. I need Your strength and wisdom to win this fight. Save me from myself when I forget who the enemy is. Do not allow me to give up, be my fortress.

For I am only human.

 

I am human.

I have hated hose who regard useless idols;

But I trust in the Lord.

I will be glad and rejoice in Your mercy,

For you have considered my trouble;

You have known my soul in adversities,

And have not shut me up into the hand of the enemy;

You have set my feet in a wide place. (Psalm 31:6-8)

I am human with the gift of feeling. Intense emotions flow through my veins and I’ve spent a lifetime mastering the art of feeling. The range of emotions is so vast. I have taught myself to hate what God hates as I follow in my Father’s footsteps, into maturity. I am human, I can discern right and wrong and am held responsible for that knowledge. I grow.

I am human and I give my trust, my sacred prize, to the only One deserving.

I am human and my emotions give me life. I use this beautiful life to praise the One who formed me, who knows me. I use my voice, my hands, my feet, my mind, my very existence to praise the One whom my soul craves. I make mistakes but the merciful One shows me the beauty in my scars. He sends compassion my way, not condemnation. He forgives and celebrates my humanity.

I am human and my troubles are not small. The Father notices and loves. He does not forsake. I am a child with the fortune of a loving Father.

I am human with my soul in tatters and my heart broken. But my soul and heart are priceless and always loved, both whole and broken. I am a known puzzle that the Father never tires of piecing back together.

I am human and I am safe. I have enemies trying to capture me but the Lord’s hold on my heart is my haven. I have not been forgotten, for the Father delights in me and I delight in Him.

I am human and my journey has not ended. From the moment I set foot on the earth, my Father gave me a purpose. The way before me is vast and full of possibility. I have a King behind me and anything before me. I cannot fail.

For I am human.

3 thoughts on “I am only human. I am human. (A Prayer)

  1. This is a prayer that I will read over and over again. It captures my senses and emotions. It inspires me to define the difference of flesh and spirit. It IS okay to be human because that is exactly how He created me. This prayer inspires me to look up, and leads me to His awesome kingdom of love.
    Thank you, Jesus, for Kayley and for working Your will in her.
    Love, Nana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

