made me smile

Yesterday at work, I said, “I have a huge headache!”

My little brother Ethan works with me at the restaurant and without skipping a beat, he placed his hand on my head and said, “Be healed in Jesus’ name!”

It reminded me of when he was little and I walked past his room late one night. I heard him talking softly, so I walked in, light from the hallway flooding the edge of his bed. He turned and looked at me, puzzled.

“What?”

“Who are you talking to?” I asked.

His little cheeks flushed pink and he smiled. “I’m talking to God.”

I smiled and then he told me to get out because I was interrupting his conversation with God.
Little moments like these remind me time and time again how much our Heavenly Father wants a relationship with us. When we pray, we are talking with Someone, not just spewing desperate words at an all-powerful life force. It’s a conversation and a love based relationship. This encouraged me yesterday and today, and I hope it at least made you smile.

My little brother is cute and God is good.

Leave a Reply

